Introduction to the Seven Chakras

When walking into a yoga studio or learning about yoga and meditation, you will often see a poster with the outline of a human sitting in lotus with seven different round colors running from the pelvic area all the way to the top of the head. What you see there and in the picture next to this article are the seven chakras or energy centers of the body. Each chakra has a specific location and purpose when it comes to keeping the body balanced. Let’s begin our journey of the chakras with a basic understanding of their purpose.

1st Chakra: (Muladhara) Root Chakra
– The first chakra is located at the pelvic, is red in color and connects to our roots. This is the seat of our soul, our family lineage, physical vitality rises from here and is the creative expression. Fear, survival, and abundance issues all rise from imbalances in the root chakra. The physical organs it represents are the kidneys, bladder, and spine.

2nd Chakra: (Svadhisthana) Sacral Chakra
– The second chakra is located below the navel, is orange, and is the centre of feelings and emotions. This is also the seat of creative energy. The second chakra is the vortex of energy and represents the reproductive organs and thus is the center of sexual energy.

3rd Chakra: (Mani Pura) Solar Plexus Chakra
– The third chakra is located at the solar plexus, is yellow, and this is the centre of power and wisdom. Your gut feeling comes from this and this is where we store all of our emotions. In a physical sense, the third chakra represents the digestive system, stomach, liver, gall bladder, and adrenals.

4th Chakra: (Anahata) Heart Chakra
– The fourth chakra is located at the heart, is green in color, and its main function is love and compassion. The feelings of love, forgiveness, acceptance, and compassion all rise from here. The heart chakra represents the lungs, liver, circulatory system, thymus, and of course, the heart.

5th Chakra: (Vishudda) Throat Chakra
– The fifth chakra is located at the throat, is blue, and its main functions are communication and self-expression. The organs it represents are the throat, lungs, and thyroid.

6th Chakra: (Ajna) Third Eye Chakra
– The sixth chakra is located at the forehead, is a deep purple color, and this is the intuitive center. This chakra holds visions and insights. The physical organs the sixth chakra represents are the autonomic nervous system, hypothalamus, and the pineal gland.

7th Chakra: (Sahasrara) Crown Chakra
– The seventh chakra is located on the top of the head, is often golden in color, but is also seen as a lavender color in many pictures. The crown chakra connects us with our spiritual self and the organs it represents are the brain and pituitary gland.

You can still go much further into depth with each of the seven chakras and as you read them, some of them are similar in function or have organs in common. All the seven chakras work together and are interlinked. Each Friday, for the next seven Fridays, I will focus on each chakra and therefore, will discuss its balances and imbalances, stones, and what to do to balance them. In the meantime, take a look at the chakra picture, because just by observing the chakras, it brings about balance and harmony.

Happy chakra balancing!